top of page

Workspace Nightmares.


Rain, rain and so much rain. Frustrating days at a time not being able to do anything. Thinking I had the tuk-tuk pretty covered and protected I was in for a big shock one morning after a particularly heavy highveld thunderstorm. The awning was pretty useless at keeping any moisture off anything below and just pooled and dripped onto the plastic sheeting. I really hadn't planned on installing a swimming pool but hey, a mobile tuk-tuk splashpool doesn't seem like a bad idea. :-) I am so damn lucky the sheeting held up till I could stand on the chair and bail all the water out. If you have seen what water does to chipboard you can imagine how I was freaking the hell out, would have had to start again. Better plans were made.

An example of a piece of chipboard that was out in the rain in the middle

When the sun was shining I managed to get some good days in doing the insulation and panelling. The Isoboard polystyrene sheeting worked perfectly giving a nice hard finish compared to softer options which was great so I wouldn't have to add another layer to enclose it, which would add even more weight. Some good old duct tape to seal it up from the outside and I was ready to start with the tongue and groove pine panels.

Insulating the frames

Already concerned about weight I was thinking of as many ways as possible I could reduce it. Every little bit counts right. Once I had figured out how, I suddenly really had my work cut out for me. My dreams consisted of drilling holes and swimming through sawdust like Scrooge McDuck through his money vaults for days. Getting the back flap on was a great feeling, the panels were finally done.


Getting some weight off the panels and finally getting them on the tuk-tuk.

The next setback should have been anticipated after my first experience driving it. This time on a steeper incline and weight of the battery not being in the front, it reared up again and everything inside came crashing out as I sat on the very back end trying to get out. The side table top got dented, its door cracked and came off the piano hinges and the back panel had a hole punched through it. Arrrrgh! So I decided to just strip the whole thing and come up with something a little more funkier. More holes, alas, but I think what I have in mind will look great. Thankfully before the incident I had not built my fold down steps yet as I realised I had to modify the design so the weight is concentrated on the ground when stepping up and not suspended from the tuk-tuk as I previously had in mind.


The side unit before the accident and the state it is in now.

The pressure is on, I only have 3 weeks to get the roof done, then paint and waterproof the structure as the Gazebo is needed for a holiday and this is not the only project i've got to finish by then. Eeeeeek! The dams are full from all the rain so lets just hope we get a few sunny weekends.

Like and share my Facebook page to follow the adventure. www.facebook.com/tukayaproject

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page