top of page

The Waiting Game.

Well there was no time for the Tukaya trying frantically to finish off the AfrikaBurn Project. The Volstruis Paradys was loads of fun. Pick your ostrich and around you go, or just chill in the shade in the middle and watch the world go by.


Peeps having fun on the Voltruis Paradys

So Aya pretty much sat in storage at a friends house for a few months. By then the summer rains had passed and winter was already well on its way. When things started coming together again it was only warm enough to work by 10 in the morning and starting to get chilly just after 3 in the afternoon. Some good cosmetic finishing was in order and we made sure to have a bit of fun doing that.

First tried mixing sawdust with wood glue for filler in the old fashioned method but was thankfully shown how much easier filler paste was by a friend.


Filling in the gaps

Once dried it was time to sand it down and finally start painting and varnishing. I had other ideas for how I wanted it to look but when I assessed how much time I had lost and how long it would take to do each panel, it made sense to call in the favours and hit plan B. I am pretty please with the outcome so far and I think it will work out just fine. Big thanks to my helpers.


Champers and Braai for labour. :-) Looking good.

Got to work on this side table I picked up from Independent Traders for R100 and they gave me a discount with some additional items I purchased. You can get lost in this place for hours, so much kewl junk. Was not quite sure what I saw the table evolving into at the time but I was trying to keep away from the built in cupboard caravan look next to the bed. It was a little on the heavy side and after it fell out the tuk tuk and got damaged it made it easier to strip it all apart and make it lighter and give it a new look with some shipping pallets.


Side Cabinet transformation

This window has to have been the most painful and slowest part of the project so far. Gladly will not be mentioning or endorsing this company at all. What I assumed would be a simple and straightforward process since you see these by the hundreds everyday is still an ongoing saga. After all the explaining and reassurances I still only got half the window and now after another long wait have now sent me the incorrect other half. I decided to just angle grind the piece and dropped the other in the process breaking the window latch piece. To be continued... Arrrrrrggggh!


The longest manufactured and delivered window in the world.

My roof also arrived, but in a more timely fashion. It's a bit heavier than I anticipated but no reinforcing or bracing will be necessary so it might just work out fine. It has got me a bit stumped on how the weight will be held on the top so I might be going back to a flip-up instead of a pop-up for stability.

Started on the trims which is some finicky work. Made some boo boos but I don't think one will notice once it is filled and painted. Did manage to do a basic interior mock-up with some stuff in the house of how I think the space is going to work and to get some ideas on how to do the interior.


Basic Mock-up of Interior to get some ideas.

Really need to get the roof and perspex windows sorted so I can finally start driving it again. Hold thumbs for the roof, it is proving to be quite a tricky one to figure out, should have built the panel myself in retrospect but will have to work with what I have got.


Like and share to follow the adventures.

www.facebook.com/tukayaproject

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page