top of page

Licensed to drive... For real?


Never thought I would have to do my learners license ever again, but there I was revising the rules and regulations of the road to drive some mad three-wheeled contraption.

Bureaucratic processes

I fortunately passed, now it was time to familiarise myself with the overwhelming controls that had freaked me out. Needless to say, my first attempt was spent, rather spastically, driving down and reversing up the driveway repeatedly until the controls felt like they made a bit more sense.

Like, seriously! What does that lever do? Hmmm...

The lurching down to a minimum I decided to take it on the open road. Grateful that I had had had some previous experience riding motorcycles on farms growing up, and around a bit of Vietnam recently, I proceeded on my first mission to terrorise the streets of Jozi, legally! Woohoo! :-) And 20mins later Aya was dead. Kaput! Nadda! Fortunately it was outside a friends house. The unfortunate part being that the neighbours kids thought I was a real ice cream van and came screaming, "Ice cream, Ice cream"! Note to self: get rid of the ice cream signs as soon as possible, how embarrassing! Haha An overnight charge thanks Simon, and I was ready to hit the road again. This time, I managed to reach an exhilarating top speed of a whole 45km/h. Wheeeeeee! :-) I don't know if this is a good or a bad thing at this stage. Visibility around the vehicle is so bad, how do people drive these things? More a case of they can see you, being big red ice cream van, than you can see them. Eeek!

Our first venture into Sandton for insurance assessment

What next:

  • Remember to turn the indicators off after turning. Arrrrgggh!

  • Buy a portable battery starter kit

  • Find a better side mirror or blind spot solution

  • Source a Reverse Camera System to see behind the vehicle

  • Make a Video on how to drive these things

Like my Facebook page and share if you want to follow the adventure...

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page