top of page

Design Development


Ideas for the structural parts

Now that I have the actual vehicle it has been much easier to measure it all up instead of dealing with so much guesswork. A few things have changed, but the main ideas have remained. Still trying to keep it as simple as possible. I am hoping to not go as campervan as the images above but rather finish it off with more contemporary tiny home finishes as below. So achieving a blend of the two would be first prize.

Ideas for external finishes


A vent fan is essential for controlling condensation in small enclosed spaces. Plenty of space on the roof for solar and future advertising gizmos.



The Graphic panel idea is taking shape. Need to have a chat with some advertising peeps and see what is possible, but I think PVC Banners will be easy to change and the costs are far cheaper than other options I have explored. Suggestions are welcome.


Decided to go with the pop-up going up vertically rather than at an angle, but this could change depending on how the roof ends up being constructed.



Interior Look and feel

For the interior, I am hoping to go for a rather neutral 3 toned look. Wood for some warmth, white to keep it airy and spacious and a medium grey to balance it.


Right Side GIF

Raised the bed higher so I could get this very basic kitchenette and storage area underneath that is accessible from the outside. Would be nice if the graphics panel could flip up and become an awning. It might need to fold in half horizontally as well to make the storage more accessible in smaller spaces, but I will get to that when the time comes. Getting a bit carried away with the camper side of it, but there are so many cool ideas out there I have to keep reminding myself I am doing this in the city, for now! ;-)


Left Side GIF

As always the design will evolve as the materials and costs come into play. Next step is sourcing materials, sponsors and donations for the build.

Drop me a mail if you know of any companies in Johannesburg that you think would be interested in supporting this project.

9 views0 comments
bottom of page